Get Real with Yourself

16564_642689438301_800396_nGet real with yourself. Have a good honest talk with yourself. Tell yourself the true things you may not want to hear, but need to hear. Tell yourself the true things you need to hear and want to hear. Don’t beat yourself up. Don’t put yourself down. Don’t coddle yourself.

That is what I did five years ago. I told myself all the things I didn’t want to hear, but I needed to. This is how it went:

Anne, you are overweight and it isn’t because you are built that way. You are overweight because you let yourself get lazy. You stopped caring. Did you ever care? Well, you should. You’re worth it. You’re incredible. You’re a firecracker. Your are more than just a fat girl. If you want to be happy, if you want any kind of quality of life, get with it! Get off your lazy ass and go for a walk. Start liking vegetables. Quit smoking. You are going to eat and smoke yourself into an early grave when you could have another amazing 60 years!

And I bought a fitness DVD. And all 282 lbs. of me got off my ass and danced.

The picture? Not 282 lbs. There is one picture of me at 282 lbs, and it’s on my parents’ fridge. They refuse to take it down until I give them another one. For some reason I don’t. And they don’t push it. Sometimes, I go for a visit and I stare at that picture for a minute or so. Sometimes I walk in and see my dad staring at it.

It is good to remember when you came from. It’s good to see the changes in not just your body, but your life. It is good to see the sparkle you didn’t have and love what you’ve become. Those painful memories are something to love as well. I was that person, I was in there, I fought my way out.

The first step is to love yourself and be honest with yourself. To know that you are more than you give yourself credit for and deserve more. You have to be ready to make that change. To give up your additions. If you feel you need to lose weight, chances are you know you need to, and you want to, but you aren’t ready to. I’ve come across many people who have gone the bariatric surgery route. Every person I know who has had the bariatric surgery has said the same thing, “I couldn’t do it on my own.” I am stunned every time I hear it. If they couldn’t do it on their own, how do they expect to make the necessary changes to keep the weight off?

The answer is that most don’t. In fact, 95% of all dieters regain weight 18 – 24 months after they’ve stopped dieting.

The definition of the word “diet” is: the deliberate selection of food to control body weight or nutrient intake. By it’s very definition, it implies a non-permanent state in which the dieter changes what they eat to suit a desired outcome. Once the outcome is reached the “diet” is over. What is necessary is permanent change. If you want to lose weight, you have to change yourself. You have to want healthy. You have to enjoy healthy more than you enjoy unhealthy. You have to truly feel that healthy tastes better than unhealthy.

You also have to understand that junk food is full of addicting additives. It’s like crack. Your body wants it. You need to understand this and understand that you are an addict. I cannot have a McDonald’s hamburger because I know that it is full of chemicals that my body is addicted to, and while I may be nauseated by the smell of that hamburger now, once I reintroduce it to my body I cannot trust that my body wont want it again.

Develop good habits to replace the bad ones. Enjoy food as it was intended. It is supposed to taste good with out all the crap and the fat!

Leave a Reply

